Skip to main content
YMCA Keeping Our Promises Awards Recipients in Dodge City, KS

DODGE CITY, KAN – The Dodge City Family YMCA is wrapping up it’s 2023 Keeping Our Promise (KOP) Scholarship Program, awarding over 100 free youth memberships to local elementary, middle and high schools.

Students are nominated by their teachers and individual school administrators with the guidelines from the Y that winners show the YMCA core values of honestly, respect, caring and responsibility. Each school has their own process, but every school in Dodge City can nominate students.

“This is the most successful year to date, awarding 50 more scholarships than previous years’ awards,” said Dodge City Family YMCA CEO, Jackie Regan-Gaucin. “USD 443 school administration really stepped up and got us a lot of great nominations, and it is such an amazing opportunity for us to get into the community to help families. This year we formally added DCHS, and the students' response was just amazing – we decided not turn any teens away and awarded 29 teens at the high school alone.”

“As a board member and a donor, the KOP program is truly one of our best,” Cori Tagtmeyer, Y board president, stated, “I can truly see the YMCA’s mission working in the community through this program, and I encourage others to give back to help out the kids and families in Dodge City.”  

"We actually overshot our goal and didn’t have enough donors rounded up to award over 50," Reagin-Gaucin added. "But the Y decided it was worth it to go ahead and give out the awards, with the YMCA sponsoring about 50 memberships. I honestly just cannot turn kids away. I feel passionately about the need and importance of having a safe and fun place for our kids and families. It’s worth it to give these out, and we will work on adding donors for the future."

Here is a list of winners from each school:

  • Sunnyside: Ella Hernandez, Luis Jimenez, Jaime Madariaga, Joseph Rodriguez II, Oscar Diaz, Cesar Diaz, Lionel Del Real, Emilio Del Real
  • Sacred Heart: Water, Elis and Johnathon Cossman
  • Linn: Guleid Awil, Dielasor Tewodros, Betredingl Aynalem, Aven Aynalem, Alondra Martinez, Damian Figueroa, Cataleya Figueroa, Andres Ballesteros Coronado, Isaac Ballesteros Coronado, Mauricio Ballesteros Coronado, Isaiah DelReal, Elias DelReal, Alaynah Villar-Garcia, Kailani Villar-garcia, Jasiah Payne
  • Central: Kaymani Hernandez, Pedro Lozano, Alvaro Mus Quixan, Juan Tebalan, Cesar Mendoza, Jesus Tzunux, Arturo Ortiz
  • Miller: Isabel Juarez, Max Gutierrez, Gicela Gutierrez, Darion Gutierrez, Bryleigh Cisneros, Micaela Gutierrez, Daniel Cayetano
  • Soule: Pedro Villegas, Gavin Valadez, Marlee Ford, Jarious Santo, Ron Beverly
  • Ross: Paula Gonzalez, Axel Lopez, Madilynn Burnett, Brody Campbell, Eugene Thornton, Addison Shearer
  • Beeson: Carlos Estrada, Ian Santana, Martin Martinez Alvarez, Nadia Nunez, Carter Aguilar-William, Hector Ventura
  • Commanche: Christopher Hoskins, Alyssa Gwaltney, Nelson Benito, Rony Valasquez, Damian Villatero, Yhir Rodriguez
  • Northwest: Jocelyn Pu, Cristian de la Cruz, Sochi Falcon, Rafael Araujo, Leah Rojas, Dilan Gutirrez, Janneth Lopez Giron, Gabriel Antonio Mercado, Evee Lemus, Amelia Mendoza, Kenia Sanchez-De La Rosa, Eliana Silva, Aiden Rodriguez, Wyatt Solis Ortega, Kiara De Paz Contreras, Johnson Herrera, Olivia Sanchez, Monzerrat Flores, Aidan Ramirez
  • DCMS: Kaesyn Rodriguez, Francisco Castro Tomas, Derek Centeno Duarte, Steven Saucedo, Esteban Nava, Marty Gusman, Domingo Lorenzo Ramos, Edwards Lopez
  • DCHS: Arely Guzman Olivarez, Rodolfo Acosta, Addison Slattery, Jose Gauracos Alonzo, Jenny Garcia, Lyric Zarate, Emily Ochoa Menendez, Aaron Warkentin,  Angel Turrubiates Castillo, Alexis Vega, Reynado Soto Rocha, Alexen Garcia Barajas, Camila Briones-Romo, Eric Arreola, Adam Kisner, Karina Avalos Martinez, Abby Schriner, Aldo Reyes, Gabriel Valazquez, Angel Acosta Uribe, Ariana Cendejas Fernandez, Tadea Briones Romo, Ana Solorzano, Fredy Peralta, Aubriana Sanchez Maestas, Ariana Auza Luna, Adrian Carrillo Trejo, Nicole Garcia, Ismael De La Cruz Lorenzo

A big thank you to the following donors: Rebein Bros/Dave Rebein, Aaron and Jodi Conrardy, Nannette Pogue, Richard Regan, United Way of Dodge City, Southwest Storm, Joel Winters Family, Rob Sowers-State Farm, Henton Plumbing, Boot Hill Casino, Conant Construction, Cowboy Dentist-Kelly Henrichs, Crop Quest, Fidelity State Bank, Crott’s Aircraft Service, Daniel Love Law Office, DW Investment Group, EZ’s Asian Kitchen, Lewis Chevrolet, Lewis Toyota, Kitchen’s Inc, Medical Heights Dental, Craig Mock, Centera Bank  

Since 2013 the Dodge City Family YMCA has been serving Ford County and the surrounding communities. Being a non-profit, membership and program-driven organization, we rely on volunteers and contributions to help support our mission. If you are interested in more information on how to give, please contact Jackie Gaucin, CEO. at